Millenium Development Goals

In the year 2000, along with 189 member states of the United Nations, Serbia adopted the Millennium Declaration that stated the basic values which should be used as a foundation for international relations in the 21st century: freedom, equality, solidarity, tolerance, respect of nature and sharing responsibilities. The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) that came out of this Declaration are the following:

1. Eradication of extreme poverty and hunger;
2. Accomplishment of universal primary schooling;
3. Promotion of gender equality and empowerment of women;
4. Reduction of child mortality;
5. Improvement of maternal health care;
6. Combat against HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis and other diseases;
7. Protection and improvement of the environment; and
8. Development of global partnerships for growth.

These Millennium Development Goals were incorporated into the National Poverty Reduction Strategy, which was adopted in 2003. Three years later, the Government of the Republic of Serbia has adopted a report called “National Millennium Development Goals,” in which the global MDGs and indicators were adapted for national development priorities and harmonized with the existing national development strategies and regulations.

What's Next?

The Millennium Development Goals  show that targets work. They have helped end poverty for some, but not all.

The United Nations defined Sustainable Development Goals as part a new sustainable development agenda that must finish the job and leave no one behind. This agenda is launched at the Sustainable Development Summit in September 2015, at the 193-Member United Nations General Assembly.